StreetFox Tadpole Trike, New Bike Book in 2008

StreetFox Tadpole Trike

I know, I know, it’s been awhile since the last update. The summer has flown by somehow (I barely remember August), and fall is settling in, although the temps have been in the 80’s and 90’s some days. Very weird. So much to do around the house, and so little time – literally.

Of course, that means getting our bike projects done as quickly as possible, as well as our next book, “Bike, Scooter, and Chopper Projects for the Evil Genius“, due out in late April 2008. There will be at least two more downloadable projects coming in the next few months, and a winter bike for sure in January/February.

But, in the meantime, the StreetFox Tadpole Trike download is online and sparking some interest in the bike building community. We took it out for some video footage and pictures a couple of weeks ago, my first real test ride at Kakabeka Falls Provincial Park, just a half hour drive from where we live. It was unbelievably hot that day, not a good day for wearing black t-shirts.

I was so impressed with how well the StreetFox handled around sharp corners, comfortable and fast. Considering I haven’t done much bike riding this summer, I managed to tackle a couple of fairly steep hills with little effort. Should have known better than to wear the black tee, though. I can also lift the trike easily in and out of the back of the truck by myself, another plus.

After riding around for a couple of hours, we rested at the beach and met up with an Atomic Zombie fan, who is also an electric bike enthusiast. It’s interesting how many people are into this hobby and electric vehicles. After chatting it up with him for almost an hour, we packed up and headed home.

It was a productive day, but we headed to a BBQ for dinner and decided to ride our bikes, about a 15 minute ride, Brad on his DeltaWolf with underseat steering modification and me on my StreetFox. I can honestly say that I’m now a huge fan of the tadpole trike design. I liked my WildKat Recumbent, but I think I’m hooked on the StreetFox for sure. Check it out for yourself.

Brad is currently working on a compact electric scooter, smaller than the LongRanger Electric Bike, but still practical and easy to build. That download will be available in October. So, we’re still plugging along, and yes, the Builder’s Gallery is being updated. Once all of the latest entries are done, it will all be uploaded late one evening. Have to be weary of our bandwidth issues these days. Thanks for your continued patience as we try to resolve the occasional download glitches. We have some options available, but improvements take time and money, things we’re a bit short on these days. The store and site will be streamlined later this year.

Cheers for now.

Comments are closed.